Books as the Movies

Forest Gump

Forest Gump has won more awards than any other film on this list. At the Academy Awards alone it earned six Oscars, along with another three wins at the Golden Globes, in both of these it received awards for ‘Best Picture’. Released in 1994, Forest Gump follows the plot about a man who recounts the story of his life on a bench at a bus stop. He seems like a pretty simple man but it turns out his life is rather extraordinary, ranging from influencing Elvis, to ping pong world championships and even the Vietnam War. The Film is based on the book by Winston Groom; the book concentrates more on his adventures and less on the love story than the film. There is also a sequel named ‘Gump & Co.’, the rights for a film have been acquired and a script was written in 2001 though nothing ever came from it.

Mrs. Doubtfire

Mrs. Doubtfire was the Winner of Best Makeup at the Academy Awards and both Best Picture (Musical/Comedy) and Best Actor (Musical/Comedy) at the Golden Globes, Mrs. Doubtfire is the story a voice actor who loses custody of his children, he decides to then disguise himself as an elderly Scottish nanny named Mrs. Doubtfire in order to spend time with them. The film is based on a book called ‘Madame Doubtfire’ by Anne Fine, though in the book the children are aware the nanny is actually their father unlike the film. Robin Williams plays the title role in the film and it is arguably one of his best loved.

 Who Framed Roger Rabbit

‘Who Framed Roger Rabbit’ is set in a fictional part of LA named ‘Toontown’ and follows the story of a cartoon rabbit who seeks out the help of a no-nonsense private eye named Eddie Valiant after he’s been framed for the murder of C.E.O. of the Acme Corporation. This was based on a book by Gary K. Wolf named ‘Who Censored Roger Rabbit?’. Though very similar in their core concept, the two differ quite largely as the film is about animated movie stars, whereas the book is about comic strip characters. Many characters appear in both, though with very different personalities and the movie has an entirely different villain. ‘Who Framed Roger Rabbit’ won 4 Academy awards, one being a ‘Special Achievement Award’ given to Richard Williams for animation direction and creation of the cartoon characters.


Still likely DreamWorks’ most well-known animated franchise, ‘Shrek’ is the tale of an Ogre who leaves his swamp and with the help of an over enthusiastic donkey, together they save a Princess from a tower guarded by a fire breathing dragon. The story hosts a satirical take on the fairytale genre, something their competitors at Disney are very well known for. The Film is loosely based on the children’s book ‘Shrek!’ by William Steig which is a far more basic picture book; it has the same premise only with less German pigs, tortured gingerbread men and cross-dressing wolves. ‘Shrek’ won the first ever Academy Award for Best Animated Feature and has set the tone for DreamWorks animated films ever since.


Share this post